FIM Superbike Magny-Cours - Tissot Superpole

FIM Superbike Magny-Cours - Tissot Superpole-993

Twenty-fourth career Tissot-Superpole for Tom Sykes

Magny-Cours (France), Saturday 4 October 2014 - The penultimate Tissot-Superpole of the season has gone to Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), courtesy of a circuit best lap of 1.36.366 after a fast and furious session saw the top spot change repeatedly in the final minutes. The Briton added one more Pole Position, his 5th this year, to the impressive tally of 24 so far in his WSBK career and he is now looking to make the most of the two races, scheduled for tomorrow at Magny-Cours.

Alongside Sykes on the front row tomorrow will be Davide Giugliano (Ducati Superbike Team) and Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) who kept his title hopes alive by making it onto the front row for the first time since the Portuguese Round.

The top three riders were awarded with their trophies by former WSBK regular rider, 2003 runner-up and two time race winner Ruben Xaus.

Row two comprises the second Ducati Superbike Team entry of Chaz Davies, and the Aprilia Racing duo of Sylvain Guintoli and Marco Melandri. Given the points situation, Guintoli will need two good starts in order not to lose too much ground from championship Sykes in the early stages of the two races.

The best classified EVO rider was Sylvain Barrier (BMW Motorrad Italia) who will start both 21 lap races from 13th on the grid. The Frenchman narrowly missing out on moving into Superpole 2.

EVO championship leader David Salom (Kawasaki Racing Team) rode through the pain barrier after an FP4 tumble to salvage 7th in Superpole 1 meaning a 17th position grid slot for both races tomorrow.

Fabien Foret (Team Pedercini) will begin his final WSBK races from 20th on the grid.

In Superpole 1 it was Frenchman Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team), 7th,who set the fastest time during the session, moving into the final 15 minute shoot-out along with Max Neukirchner (3C Racing Team) who also progressed joining the already seeded top ten riders after FP1, FP2 and FP3.

Results: 1. Sykes (Kawasaki) 1'36.366 average 164.784 kph; 2. Giugliano (Ducati) 1'36.593; 3. Rea (Honda) 1'36.906; 4. Davies (Ducati) 1'37.021; 5. Guintoli (Aprilia) 1'37.184; 6. Melandri (Aprilia) 1'37.190; 7. Baz (Kawasaki) 1'37.215; 8. Lowes (Suzuki) 1'37.270; 9. Laverty (Suzuki) 1'37.407; 10. Haslam (Honda) 1'37.575; 11. Fores (Ducati) 1'37.673; 12. Neukirchner (Ducati) 1'37.877; 13. Barrier (BMW); 14. Elias (Aprilia); 15. Lanzi (Ducati); 16. Canepa (Ducati); 17. Salom (Kawasaki); 18. Corti (MV Agusta); 19. Morais (Kawasaki); 20. Foret (Kawasaki).

FIM Superbike World Championship calendar

<em>FIM Superbike World Championship</em> calendar
  • 06.09.2019 - 08.09.2019 Autodromo Internacional do Algarve
  • 27.09.2019 - 29.09.2019 Circuit de Magny-Cours
  • 11.10.2019 - 13.11.2019 El Villicum
  • 24.10.2019 - 26.10.2019 Losail International Circuit
  • 22.02.2019 - 24.02.2019 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
  • 15.03.2019 - 17.03.2019 Chang International Circuit
  • 05.04.2019 - 07.04.2019 MotorlLand Aragon
  • 12.04.2019 - 14.04.2019 TT Circuit Assen
  • 10.05.2019 - 12.05.2019 Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari di Imola
  • 07.06.2019 - 09.06.2019 Circuito de Jerez
  • 21.06.2019 - 23.06.2019 Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
  • 05.07.2019 - 07.07.2019 Donington Park
  • 19.07.2019 - 21.07.2019 Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca